PDA

View Full Version : How to process this picture

Shreeni Rao
08-18-2011, 12:18 AM
I am fairly new to bird photography and the required PP techniques though I am fairly handy with CS5. The current photos was of the GWE in rain taken in Jun 2011 in Karnataka, India. Canon EOS 7D/70-200/2.8 IS II USM + 2x TC-II from a kayak.

I tried the same techniques that I use for my portraits & event photos but came up cropper. Would you be able to guide me ?

EXIF intact though the image has been resized to forum requirements. No PP has been done.

TIA

Shreeni

John Chardine
08-18-2011, 06:36 AM
Hi Shreeni- This is a beautiful portrait of a heron/egret against a really nice background. There are a few things you can do to improve the image. The main issue is that it is underexposed and dark. It's best to expose correctly out of the camera of course but if you have a dark image like this there are various techniques that you will be familiar with to brighten up the image. The middle slider in Levels works well on this image. You could also use Curves, Brightness and Contrast (a bit of a sledgehammer), or the dodging tool. The problem with brightening an underexposed image in PP is that you will bring out the noise. If you shoot RAW it's actually best to overexpose the image so long as the highlights are not blown ("exposing to the right"). Then bring the exposure back in PP. That will give you the best noise ratio.

The other thing I would do is recrop so that the bird is looking into the long side of the image with less negative space behind the bird's head. As it is now the bird looks a bit like it's been naughty and has been sent to the corner!

Shreeni Rao
08-18-2011, 11:32 AM
Thank you very much John.