PDA

View Full Version : HELP or should I even continue?

Stan Cunningham
08-12-2011, 12:10 AM
Things I like about the pic is the sharp image of the bear and it's reflection, and the view of the surrounding area including mountain with snow.
Things I def don't like is the blue tint of the mtns, the ripples of the sand poking through the water, and the harsh light on the bears back.
Not sure it's salvageable, and def not with out some advice.
Canon 5D2, 70 - 200 2.8 at 190, ISO 250, F8 at 1/1000

Processing includes a slight crop and I did reduce quite a bit of the blue tint using curves in LAB, but I'm new to this methodology.
If you don't think it's worth it, I can understand, but if you have some suggestions I sure try it.
Thanks
Stan

Charles Glatzer
08-12-2011, 09:03 AM
Stan,

You can easily select the mts within your image with the Quick Selection tool, thereafter use a Saturation Adjustment layer to modify the mts to your liking.
The ripples do not bother me, however the intersection of the dark forepaw with the head I find problematic. The image appears very chunky, almost like the sharpening radius was set to high, but this could be fixed as well.

Best,

Chas

Arthur Morris
08-12-2011, 02:09 PM
Yes to mega over-sharpening and a good point by Chas about the merge of the forepaw with the snout. A Linear Burn on the bear's back should easily restore density and detail.... While the bear's back does not look over-exposed the breasts of the gulls do look hot..... How did you meter?

Arthur Morris
08-12-2011, 02:10 PM
I meant to ask, is this Silver Salmon Creek Lodge?

Steve Canuel
08-12-2011, 06:39 PM
Hi Stan,