PDA

View Full Version : Hunningbird 7 - Flash Outdoor Studio Checkout

Randy Stephens
07-19-2011, 03:49 PM
Hey, Being a recent NASA retiree I got bored during last winter's cold and snow here in Hazel Green. After reading several threads on various forums on the subject, I started to assemble and checkout in the living room a 7-Flash setup with background. Yesterday I assembled it outdoors and give it a checkout with live subjects. Attached is the second bird photographed with the setup and I was quite happy with the results. It was taken with a Nikon D3X on manual exposure at I believe f11. The flashes were set at 1/32 power. Please critque the photo and give areas that need improvement.http://rkstephensphotography.smugmug.com/Other/Hummingbirds-2011/i-CBrgCwr/0/L/DSC4239-Edit-L.jpg

http://rkstephensphotography.smugmug.com/Other/Hummingbirds-2011/i-CBrgCwr/0/L/DSC4239-Edit-L.jpg

Craig Clute
07-19-2011, 08:00 PM
Nice work Randy.

I have zero humming bird experience so take the following with a grain of salt: The head and eye are crisp, nice job. I might remove two of the three catch lights in the eye in order to clean it up a little. Increased DOF might also work to get the tail feathers into focus, but certainly not a requirement in my mind. The only other comment would be a potential change to the BG colour, but this comes down to personal choice.

Bottom line -- great 'second' attempt. I would be more than happy if it were mine!

Daniel Cadieux
07-19-2011, 08:54 PM