PDA

View Full Version : Camera settings

dankearl
07-12-2011, 09:30 PM
This may sound like a newbie question and it is as I am a newbie to bird photography.
If I may ask, what are the settings most people use here?
The reason I ask is, after months of using sort of what I call normal settings (I select aperture, usually largest or one stop down for the fastest speeds, set the iso at 400 to 800, to minimize noise and just shoot away).
I had a lot of OOF shots due to slow speed so I tried some new settings.
I have the Nikon D7000, so I can set a custom setting using the U1 or U2 settings.
I have begun using a minimum setting of 1/1000, f6.3 (one stop down with my lens) and using auto iso. I just cap it at 1600 and go for it.
I am getting about 90% in focus shots with this, depending on light, either good (sub 400) or high (1000-1600) iso shots but they are focused and I am happier with this setting.
Is this a reasonable way to shoot birds or are there better ways of setting up the camera.
I find that for in-flight photos, I am not talented enough to adjust settings manually at the time. I don't know how you would do that?
Any good suggestions, I hope you understand my question.

Desmond Chan
07-14-2011, 08:28 PM
Not sure why you've got 107 views but no reply, and you look like a member in good standing, too.

I have begun using a minimum setting of 1/1000, f6.3 (one stop down with my lens) and using auto iso. I just cap it at 1600 and go for it.
I am getting about 90% in focus shots with this, depending on light, either good (sub 400) or high (1000-1600) iso shots but they are focused and I am happier with this setting.
Is this a reasonable way to shoot birds

I'd say so. You got the results and so that means it works. The faster the bird, the faster the shutter speed that you should use.

or are there better ways of setting up the camera.In terms of...?