PDA

View Full Version : Are you as a wildlife photographer - an ARTSIT or a CRAFTSMAN?

Ofer Levy
07-06-2011, 05:52 PM
Hi all,<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
One more topic that I would like to discuss…<o:p></o:p>
I often see wildlife photographers who refer to their photos as “ART” mentioning “CREATING AN IMAGE” etc.<o:p></o:p>
I don’t think I am an artist, I don’t feel I create an image. I am a CRAFTSMAN and I capture nature’s creation.<o:p></o:p>
Would love to hear what other people feel.
Thanks!:w3<o:p></o:p>

Dan Brown
07-06-2011, 07:09 PM
I believe that we do create when we press the button. In fact, I think legally, we create and it is our property when we press the button. No one else but you pressed the button. YOU CREATED IT! YOU ARE THE MAKER!

I like this definition of ARTIST gleaned from wiki and previously posted -

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
 A follower of a pursuit in which skill comes by study or practice
 A follower of a manual art, such as a mechanic
 One who makes their craft a fine art