PDA

View Full Version : Unknown little fellow

Mats Honkamaa
06-29-2011, 02:50 PM
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3990/img6564web.jpg
Canon 7D with EF400/5.6L USM | f/5.6, 1/1600 sec, ISO800

First of all maybe someone can help me identify this little fellow. Found him in northern Finland, I am pretty sure its a juvenile. I'm not very good at birds even though I like photographing them.

I cloned away little grass in BG and also brightened the birds face little bit since it was darkened by shadow (light is coming from left). I tried to sharpened the bird little as well.

How can I improve this photo? It is cropped maybe 50% from orignial so other crops would work as well.

John Chardine
06-29-2011, 07:12 PM
Hi Mats- We have a forum for bird ID and biology called "All about birds". However, as you are asking for critique here we can deal with both. First on the ID I think you are right that it is a young bird. My vote is for a young Winchat Saxicola rubetra based on the overall look, mottling on the feathers, the eye-ring, light superciliary (stripe above the eye, hard to see in this image), dark auricular (ear) patch, and the strongly edged wing coverts. By the way do you have Lars Jonsson's Birds of Europe book? It's fantastic and is of course available in Swedish.