PDA

View Full Version : Translucent Snowy Egret

justinsnapp
06-18-2011, 06:39 PM
I am a total beginner to bird photography. I rented a 300mm f/2.8 non-VR lens from the local camera store to try out with my TC-17EII teleconverter for birding.

Thought(less) Process: This was taken in the sunny morning around 7:30am at the Don Edwards NWR in SF Bay. I had actually just shown up, gotten my lens mounted on my monopod, and hadn't even had much time to check all of my camera settings when this egret came and landed nearby. I am horrible at tracking birds in flight at this point; need to walk up the learning curve.

Camera settings: Nikon D300 with Nikon 300 mm f/2.8 (non-VR), TC-17EII at 500 mm, 1/2000th sec at f/7.1, ISO 640, 1/3 EV center-weighted average metering, aperture priority. Monopod. No flash.

Post Processing: The image is from a RAW file processed in LR with some slight adjustments to the black clipping and fill light. I also dodged the water background a bit to provide a bit more contrast between the light bird and darkened water. Sharpened in LR (Looking at feathers in RAW files has made me today realize I need to learn the technical art of sharpening much better than I have at present.) This image is un-cropped.

This is my first post (I just paid a 1yr membership today) so please let me know if this post errors from the ETL guidelines and BPN expectations.

Jon Saperia
06-19-2011, 07:42 AM
Hi Justin,
I have only been posting here for a bit over a year, so I am relatively new as well. I also have used some of the same equipment as you - so here are some thoughts.

I really like the translucent effect you get with the primaries on these birds, and that effect you have well. There are lots of details one could discuss on any picture, but the two I would point out are the slightly cropped wing and getting sharp images with a 1.7TC, even though you had a great shutter speed. Both issues are related.