PDA

View Full Version : Glenorchy, New Zealand - Mount Doom

Jay Gould
06-05-2011, 08:26 AM
http://www.birdphotographers.net/forums/image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAAAEAAAABCAIAAAC Qd1PeAAAADElEQVQImWOobt8HAANBAcGYPLpEAAAAAElFTkSuQ mCChttp://www.birdphotographers.net/forums/image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAAAEAAAABCAIAAAC Qd1PeAAAADElEQVQImWOobt8HAANBAcGYPLpEAAAAAElFTkSuQ mCCWhen I finished processing, the movie Lord of the Rings popped into my head. I think it has to do with the "kiss" of the clouds on the far peak. It reminds me of the journey to the top of Mount Doom and the destruction of the Ring. Just a thought............ :D

This was shot, if I recall, looking East; the sunrise was going to set behind me.The sun hit this group of clouds when I started shooting at the location.

If I recall while looking dark the sky was actually quite bright and I used, I think, 5 stops of GND and RGND to tone down the sky and the water.

Anyway, During the first day of Kah Kit's NZ Blockbuster, after shooting in the morning at Arrowtown we were off the Glenorchy to shoot the sunset. This was taken at 3:50pm before the "sunset" - it wasn't much when it finally happened -

Camera: 5D2
Capture date/time: 23/04/11; 3:50pm
Light condition: Cloudy; early sunset
Lens: 24-105
Focal length: 45
Distance:
Extender: none
Tube: none
Flash/Comp: no
ISO: 50
Exp Prog: Av
Speed: 30 sec
Aperture: f/22
Exp Comp:
Metering: Evaluative
WB: Auto
AF Drive: One shot
Tripod: yes
Filter: SR GNDs & RGNDs
Crop: none
Images Changes: None

Processed in LR3, CS5, Pixel Genius Sharpening, Tony Kuyper Actions.

All C&Cs gratefully appreciated!

Jay Gould
06-05-2011, 08:27 AM
I have no idea why the program is putting in the icons; I didn't!

Dave Mills
06-05-2011, 08:55 AM
Hi Jay, I think the website likes the image and is automatically high fiving you.