PDA

View Full Version : Maluti Vista

Morkel Erasmus
05-31-2011, 03:52 PM
Another shot from our trip to the Golden Gate Highlands National Park. This was the view about 20 paces down the edge of the ravine from our cottages...truly a wonderful place to just relax for a few days! This was a few brief moments of late afternoon sunlight before the rain came down again.

Blend of 3 exposures for dynamic range, details enhanced with the Triple Play method.

Techs:
Canon 7D with 10-22mm USM
f16 @ ISO-100
saved at 50 quality setting!

dankearl
05-31-2011, 08:42 PM
Beautiful Morkel, it looks like the Scottish Highlands.
Much better than the view you posted a while back.
Good light does make a difference.
I like the bit of foreground, and the hills are gorgeous.
The sky is not great, not your fault of course, but a better sky would have made it much better, but you take what you get at times, it is still a really nice photo.

Dave Mayers
05-31-2011, 10:17 PM
Very nice Morkel. I am new to BPN and the technical parts of digital photography so I do not yet feel qualified to comment on your processing. I will say I really like the composition and how the ridge line draws my eye deeper and deeper into the background.

chris Bycroft
06-01-2011, 03:20 AM
Hi Morkel, I really like the foreground, how the ridge leads nicely down into the valley, and overall it is an excellent photo. The background valleys, cliffs, and hills I don't find quite so good as they look blury (as it has come up on screen anyway) rather than mist/rain in the background alone. Is this something to do with how the photo was processed as part of your Dynamic Range processing, or do you think there was a change of lighting between you three images? Prehaps more contrast in the sky would help, this is something you could look at in further processing of the image. The area of photo looks like a great place to explore and you have represented the area very well.

Morkel Erasmus
06-01-2011, 08:15 AM
thanks guys