PDA

View Full Version : Color, Color Management, Settings and Work Flow

Roger Clark
05-24-2011, 05:49 PM
Many of us here on BPN calibrate out monitors, but what specific settings do you maintain throughout your workflow from start to finish?

First some background. I believe I understand in detail the theory behind color management. As a scientist, I do imaging spectroscopy, both measuring the reflectance of different materials, computing reflectance, and computing different instrument responses (the eye is "just" another instrument), as well as creating color output for various devises (from monitors to print). Most of this I do from my own software. Where I get confused is when I need to use other software that is not adequately documented (or maybe I haven't found the right documentation) and so is just a "black box" to me, e.g. photoshop. Then add confusion where the operating system may be doing something with color management and may be fighting other programs (like photoshop) in the background.

Background for people new to color management, see the links in this thread:
http://www.birdphotographers.net/forums/showthread.php/84347-Color-Management-Tutorial

Let me first describe my color settings/workflow.

Calibration with Spyder 3 for gamma 2.2, white point= 6500 K (using Argyll in linux).
In linux: do:
system -> Preferences -> Color Profiles and select the profile to use to each monitor.

Camera: in raw conversion I output a 16-bit tif Abobe RGB image (e.g. with ACR).

In photoshop, open the image and photoshop recognises the adobe rgb color space.
This is the source color space.

But what are the correct settings in photoshop? It seems that one should be using the monitor profile and using:
view -> proof setup -> monitor RGB
and
view -> proof colors (checked).