PDA

View Full Version : Oriole

David N Smith
05-21-2011, 08:17 PM
I took this picture at a feeder in my backyard this week. I am looking for critique as to what I could have done to make it better. To me it looks a little soft but I wonder what you think.
I was using a Canon XSi, exposure: 1/250 sec @ F/8.0, ISO 400 Lens 55-250mm @ 250, aperture priority, evaluative metering and manual focus using live view. I cropped and tweaked in PS CS5
Any input will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Dave
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3408/5744309201_124120aa40_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/58554760@N07/5744309201/)

nancy hazen
05-22-2011, 10:45 AM
Dave I like this picture with the Oriole and the oranges beside him. First, that is one cool feeder. What is he eating in the middle tray?

The Oriole looks a bit soft. I am just learning myself, but wonder if a higher shutter speed would help. Even the slightest of movement from you or the bird will bring some blur. I do like the colors though.
A very pleasing image.
Nancy

David N Smith
05-22-2011, 10:51 AM
Dave I like this picture with the Oriole and the oranges beside him. First, that is one cool feeder. What is he eating in the middle tray?

The Oriole looks a bit soft. I am just learning myself, but wonder if a higher shutter speed would help. Even the slightest of movement from you or the bird will bring some blur. I do like the colors though.
A very pleasing image.
Nancy
Thanks for the reply Nancy. The middle tray holds grape jelly.
I was using a tripod and remote shutter release but the feeder cold have been moving just a bit I guess.

John Hawkins
05-22-2011, 06:52 PM
I think it is soft also. Maybe because of the crop? The colors are great. Would be nice if he was on other side of dish looking this way but they don't seem to cooperate do they?

David N Smith
05-22-2011, 07:10 PM