PDA

View Full Version : Bird Families of the World project

David Winkler
04-09-2011, 04:27 AM
Fellow photographers: Are you captivated by the diversity of the birds on Earth? Would you like to bring the magic of all birds’ beauty to a much larger audience? If so, read on!
I’m a professor who has had the enviable job of teaching ornithology at Cornell University for the past 25 years. One of the most demanding, and most rewarding, of my class requirements, has been that my students need to learn all the Bird Families of the World. In all these years, I have never had a book to teach all the bird families that is both up-to-date with the latest systematic revisions and visually compelling. For the past couple of years, I have been working with my colleague at Cornell, Irby Lovette, and one of our former students, Shawn Billerman, on a book to redress this gap. We are writing a book that we hope will be valuable to both professionals and keen amateurs. Each family account will contain a short vignette to try to capture the distinctive essence of each family, along with a distribution map, summary of key features of appearance and life history. But most importantly to the success of the book is that we hope to have an average of two really compelling photos for each Family. We'll average two pages for each family, and there will be 226 or so Families recognized in the book, so that means we need over 500 images.