PDA

View Full Version : Burrowing owl in flight

Tin Man Lee
02-15-2011, 01:42 AM
Hi, I am a new member from Thousand Oaks, CA. Have been really into bird photography especially BIF these past two years. I am a student of Jim Neiger. So far I have taken two of his workshops and am going to the third one soon, and have become a big fan of handheld techniques. Here is a photo I took few days ago at Salton Sea. Hope to improve and learn from you. C&C welcome! Nice to meet you all!

Thanks!
Tin Man (it's really my real name)

Taken by Canon 1DMkIV, 500 F4 IS, ISO 640, f/6.3, 1/3200s, handheld.
Cropped away 25% background, sharpened on the bird, NR on background, increased saturation on the eye.

arash_hazeghi
02-15-2011, 01:48 AM
excellent first post, love the BG and details, well done! it is just a tad tight in the frame

Tin Man Lee
02-15-2011, 01:54 AM
Hi Arash,
Thanks for your comments. Where do you think I should leave more space? Top or bottom?
BTW I learned a lot from your many posts and love your photos.
Tin Man

excellent first post, love the BG and details, well done! it is just a tad tight in the frame

arash_hazeghi
02-15-2011, 02:38 AM
I think t improves f you leave more room on top and bottom so there is a bit more space between the wing tips and the border. very nice work!

Kiran Poonacha
02-15-2011, 03:29 AM
Welcome to BPN... Beautiful image Tin, nice pose, details and agree to our Hawkmans suggestion :S3:

Nicely done, waiting to see more of your work..

Regards,

Kiran

Allen Sparks
02-15-2011, 05:20 AM
Beautiful shot...very well caught. Congrats! Agree with more room. Love the background as well as the frozen bird.

Ofer Levy
02-15-2011, 06:39 AM
An impressive image! I also think the bird is a bit big in the frame.

Doug Brown
02-15-2011, 08:12 AM