PDA

View Full Version : Workflow prioritisation

Jonathan Michael Ashton
03-18-2008, 04:55 PM
I can never seem to get a standardised approach - perhaps it needs to be tailored to individual images.
I usually open the image As Shot in Adobe RAW, I adjust the histogram and check the brightness and usually add a little contrast ( I use a CANON 20D and shoot RAW)
Then I go into CS2 and check the levels Alt clicking to double check highlights and shadows.

Now here comes the rub if I add a little more contrast in highlights shadows or in curves and / or if I add a little saturation and then go back to levels justto check, I often find that I have blown some element of the image.

When sharpening for the Web I usually Sharpen the full sized image and then crop to 750 pixels and then I use SmartSharpen.

Any advice would be welcome please.

Jon

Doug West
03-19-2008, 02:25 AM
I'm no expert, but I would think Quick Masking would be your friend.

For example, lets say an image is half black and half white. You want
to work on the black part, but if you do it as a whole, you'll blow the whites.

To get around that, Quick Mask the black and put it on its own layer. Then
work on that layer. Because the black is on its own layer, whatever you do to
it wont effect the whites.

Doug

Jonathan Michael Ashton
03-19-2008, 02:39 AM
Thank you Doug, I am still a raw beginner - hey no pun intended! I think I know what you mean:
I make a layer carefully draw round the particular area - say the dark patches, press Q then make the changes and then merge visible layers. I suspect it would be good to modify the selection by contracting a pixel or two and then feathering to avoid harsh lines at boundaries. Or am I off my trolley here?
Jon

Roger Clark
03-19-2008, 09:08 PM
Jon,
I always feather a selection to make any transition smooth.

If this helps, here is my digital work flow:
http://www.clarkvision.com/photoinfo/digitalworkflow

Roger

Jonathan Michael Ashton
03-21-2008, 05:03 AM