PDA

View Full Version : Pointsettia

Dave Leroy
12-22-2010, 07:13 PM
I dropped into our local library and by chance picked up Freeman Patterson's book Photography and the art of Seeing. This is my first attempt.

I have another version which is a bit brighter, but it loses some of the detail.
50D, 100mm Macro at f/16, .8sec, ISO200, indoors with a desk lamp providing some side lighting.

Dave

kostas nianiopoulos
12-23-2010, 03:09 AM
first time i see this leaf of and this plant Dave , and i have to say i love your image , you BG is great as well , nice done !!!

Aidan Briggs
12-23-2010, 09:22 PM
This is great Dave! I like the dark rendition, and the intense color and texture really make this image. I wonder about maybe backing off on the reds a little and accentuating the greens around the veins a little more. Anyway, an excellent image!

Dave Woeller
12-24-2010, 08:56 AM
I also like the darker colors here. I like the nice sharp detail and smooth background. You did very well with the placement of the desklamp, and the lighting is striking in my opinion. If I were to change anything at all, i might like to see how this looks with just a touch of clockwise rotation, just for an alternative look. Nice done, and keep em coming.

Roman Kurywczak
12-24-2010, 10:54 AM
Hey Dave,
Well......I love the dramatic lighting with all the bold color and details.....not loving the LLC that is darker and pulling my eye. If you scroll to eliminate it.....you will see what I mean. I think for your next attempt if you light that similar to the dramatic light in the rest.....then this comp will shine!!! Just something to think about and way to experiment!

Dave Leroy
12-24-2010, 02:12 PM
Thanks everyone for the comments.

I forgot to mention that I also had all my Kenko tubes on, 68mm total, so not a lot of room for moving things around too much.