PDA

View Full Version : Gayhead Cliffs, another view

Dave Mills
12-14-2010, 11:08 AM
Photographed at Martha's Vineyard in late Oct. Loved the lit cliffs and tried to get as many comps as I could. The wind was almost at gale force when I shot this.
Nikon D300,17-85,F22,1/50,0 comp,ISO 400,tripod mtd

Jay Sheinfield
12-14-2010, 11:40 AM
Dave,

I have zero experience with landscapes...........love the colors. It feels a little vertically centered to me, like either more water perspective or more sand would be balance it out one way or the other...............maybe a bit off the right??? Again, my opinion on landscapes is very uneducated............:o

Jay Gould
12-14-2010, 04:11 PM
Jay thinks Jay is onto something with the vertically centered observation. I did an onscreen crop with a tall notepad and liked it cropped just to the right of the large rock. The lit cliffs are a grabber; no doubt about that.

Dave Leroy
12-14-2010, 05:03 PM
Lovely scene and I really like the colours.

Good job on lining up the wave line with the distant cliff.

It could be my eyes, but I am wondering if the scene needs a bit more sharpening.

Dave

Andrew McLachlan
12-14-2010, 08:13 PM
Hi Dave, does look like maybe it needs a touch more sharpening or a touch more contrast. Love the way the incoming waves lead up to the cliffs. The dark clouds add a nice touch of interest. I like it as is. Did you shoot any long exposures to blur the water and clouds? That may have been neat to try.

Christopher Miller
12-14-2010, 09:27 PM
Some real nice lighting there, Dave! Excellent comp with the sunlit cliffs and the waves leading you in. I think iit could maybe use a little CW rotation, but I'm not sure.

Roman Kurywczak
12-16-2010, 09:23 AM
Hey Dave,