PDA

View Full Version : Mums in a Vase - Sepia

Anita Bower
11-18-2010, 05:10 AM
I began with an image to which I had added texture layers which you can see here (http://anitabower.aminus3.com/image/2010-11-15.html). I flattened all the layers, dodged a few areas, used Hue/Saturation adjustment with "colorize" checked to get the tone I wanted, upped contrast.

C & C always appreciated.

Jay Sheinfield
11-18-2010, 08:04 AM
Hi Anita,

Classic comp, and, I like the textures. The sepia toning fits this image just great. I really like this image, and I could also see a bit off the top and right, since I'm a close crop type. Again, that's personal preference.

Dave Woeller
11-18-2010, 08:57 AM
Absolutely stunning image Anita. I have little to no experience with textures, but you guys are driving me to them in a hurry. ;) I love the composition, tone and feel if this.

Hazel Grant
11-18-2010, 09:06 AM
Looks like one of Christopher's "old" techniques on a more modern subject. Well done! It is slightly off-center, too, which gives it a good position in comp. The vase fades into the background which gives the focus on the flowers where it should be.

Anita Bower
11-18-2010, 09:10 AM
Hi Anita,

Classic comp, and, I like the textures. The sepia toning fits this image just great. I really like this image, and I could also see a bit off the top and right, since I'm a close crop type. Again, that's personal preference.

Thanks! After I finished all the textures and layers work, I, too, thought of taking some off the top. But, some of the textures had darker edges and i didn't feel up to redoing it. :-)

Anita Bower
11-18-2010, 09:12 AM
Absolutely stunning image Anita. I have little to no experience with textures, but you guys are driving me to them in a hurry. ;) I love the composition, tone and feel if this.

Thank you. Textures can be a lot of fun!

Indranil Sircar
11-18-2010, 10:33 AM