PDA

View Full Version : Old

Michael Lloyd
11-15-2010, 10:37 PM
This old oak tree watches over San Antonio Bay in Aransas National Wildlife Refuge

EOS 1DsMkIII manual
TS-E24mm f3.5L II hand held. I get grief for shooting a tilt shift lens hand held but it works for me.

ISO 800
1/25s @f8

Dave Mills
11-16-2010, 02:14 PM
Hi Michael, trees like this can make for very interesting subjects. Black and white can very often work well if the tree really stands out. There are 2 things that I would suggest. Try and find a subject like this without all the backround distraction. All the extraneous branches,vines and the left sides backround take away from the overall impact. I would also lighten the tree a bit to show more detail......

Robert Amoruso
11-16-2010, 02:37 PM
Michael,

The lack of good tonal separation is causing the image to look "muddy" (a term from back in my B&W film printing days though I have not heard it for quite some time). As I am just starting to learn B&W conversions I don't have a specific recommendation for you here on how to correct it.

I also agree with Dave's comment on the background business.

Andrew McLachlan
11-16-2010, 07:53 PM
Hi Michael, I agree with the above comments. It looks like a very interesting tree. I wonder what it might look like if you were to lay on the ground and shoot up through the twisted branches with a wide angle lens.

Michael Lloyd
11-16-2010, 08:41 PM
I took the shortcut B&W conversion route and it shows. I need to revisit the image and make use of the training that I took from John Paul Caponigro last year. He's got some pretty good techniques for B&W conversion.

Andrew- Nice... I like that idea. I'll have to give that a shot (pun intended)