PDA

View Full Version : Hooded Merganser

Doug Schurman
11-13-2010, 03:35 PM
Hello all,

This was taken with Canon 7D 400mm f5.6 at 1/800, f5.6 and iso 1600.

I'm new to photography and birding this year. Earlier in the year I had little success with getting any decent images above iso 800. Recently I've been reading about some camera adjustments to get the histogram on the camera LCD to reflect as accurate as possible what the raw file will look like. The idea then is I can have a more accurate view when trying to push exposure to the right (which is my understanding one factor for getting less noisy images on higher iso shots).

I do all my PP in Lightroom 3 right now. It seems to limit me somewhat in that my sharpening and noise reduction since they are mostly global. The eye on this male looked a little odd so I did some local adjustments there. I plan to add Photoshop in the future to my workflow to allow greater options. I also did so cloning to remove little floating bits in the water. I know there are more but I did remove a lot of the more noticeable ones.

I think this image is certainly better than any of my previous ISO 1600 shots. I suspect it might be a little easier with a subject that did not have both black and white coloring.

All comments and feedback would be greatly appreciated as I know I have so much to learn.

Thanks

http://www.bodyresults.com/host/hooded-2.jpg

Ákos Lumnitzer
11-13-2010, 06:16 PM