PDA

View Full Version : Sea Stacks continued

Bill Randall
10-18-2010, 11:34 PM
These formations are a joy to me.

Don Hamilton Jr.
10-19-2010, 05:46 AM
Bill, very interesting, like it. Perhaps a bit tight on the right for me. Would be interesting to see the lower part of the base a bit lighter, however it could just be my monitor here at the office.
TFS
Don

Jeff Dyck
10-19-2010, 06:46 AM
Bill

I am in agreement with Don about the framing and the tightness on the right. I would consider a curves adjustment here and opening up the shadows. There are also some spots from sensor dust that should be cleaned up (notably the one to the right of the stack's apex).

My background is large format photography and this is exactly the kind of subject I would enjoy shooting. My first thought looking at the image (and it's lack of punchy colour and lighting) is that it would be better suited to black & white. Here is a quick & dirty black & white conversion (with some dodging & burning and a brown tone applied)

Regards,
Jeff

Edit: Looking at this again, something else I would add - while the seas stack is an interesting subject, I would like to see it more in context with the surroundings (assuming there is something interesting in the background - looks like some hills on the left anyway). The selection of a shorter focal length (and closer shooting position) might be very interesting (perhaps you could post your exposure data?). In addition to expanding the angle of view and revealing more of the background, the shorter focal length would put you closer to the stack - this would allow you to increase the strength of the interesting swath of water and piece of kelp (?) at the base of the stack as compositional elements.

Bill Randall
10-19-2010, 09:04 AM