Ian Cassell
10-05-2010, 10:36 AM
Canon 7D
Canon EF400mm f/5.6L

1/2500sec f/8 ISO 500 HH

~60% crop, S/H, Sharpening in CS5

Jim Crosswell
10-05-2010, 10:54 AM
Hi Ian, I like the walking/hunting pose you captured here. There is some cloning work under the bill that needs a little touch up. I would also remove the white line in front of the bill as well.

Joel Eade
10-05-2010, 11:40 AM
Hi Ian,

I like the pose as well, the head angle is fine for me and the xposure looks. I'm wondering if the bird's plumage could use another round of sharpening.

I know this has been "beat to death" but when you described the crop...did you remove 60% of the original or is there 60% remaining?

Joel

Ian Cassell
10-05-2010, 11:54 AM
Thanks, folks. I removed ~40%. I'm not very good at estimating (or, in fact, describing) my crop.

William Malacarne
10-05-2010, 12:06 PM
Ian

I like this photo but guess I miss the beak reflection, probably due to the lighting.....

Bill

Ian Cassell
10-05-2010, 12:18 PM
The beak reflection is actually between the image and the viewer due to the angle of the light.

William Malacarne
10-05-2010, 12:27 PM
Ian

Please don't think I am arguing with you...but the bird appears to be looking straight in line with his body. If so the beak would be on a plain between his legs and we can see both reflections of the legs so I figured I should also see the beak. It is not a problem I am just trying to visualize it....:)

Bill

Julie Kenward
10-05-2010, 12:50 PM
Ian, this is a very nice image. I like the pose of the bird and the HA. I do think there are some minor things in the water that could be cleaned up with some cloning. I also think more sharpening on the plumage would be helpful - his neck area and wing feathers feel a bit OOF.

Ian Cassell
10-05-2010, 03:36 PM
Thanks, Jules.