PDA

View Full Version : Lesson: Sunny 16 - Silver Gulls

Mark Young
09-27-2010, 08:53 PM
I went back this morning to try the sunny 16 rule again. This time I went down when the light was much nicer. This was taken at around and hour after sunrise.
No blown out whites this time, and some detail in the whites and grey. Looking at it on the PC, I would've liked it to be a touch brighter, so next time I'll try adding in some exp comp and see how that goes.

I used a vert crop here as I wasn't able to seperate this bird from the surrounding birds in the field, so a vert crop was the only way I could isolate the birds without doing too much PP work.

Metering mode used was evaluative. Not sure if that was the right one to use in this situation as I'm still learning about metering.

Canon 7D 300f4+1.4tc, ISO400, 1/400, f16
PP: Cropped approx 40%, NR on bg and USM applied. Canvas added at top.

Ákos Lumnitzer
09-27-2010, 09:10 PM
I feel that your crop is too tight for my taste or perhaps the ratio is a little odd. Otherwise, as far as exposure is concerned, the image is tops. Nice details in all the plumage Mark. :)

Mark Young
09-27-2010, 09:13 PM
I think you're right about the crop. Normally I would have less on top and more on the right, but there's a bird there and adding water canvas can be a tad fiddly sometimes.

James Shadle
09-27-2010, 11:14 PM
Mark,
The reason the exposure looks good is because it is was not sunny 16 bright out yet.
Unfortunately by the time sunny 16 kicks in the light is starting to get harsh.

On a sunny 16 day (cloudless, between the first and last 2.5 hours of the day) you would need to reduce the sunny 16 exposure by 1/3 -2/3 of a stop for white subjects.
That is why the Terns were over exposed. They were Sunny 16 with no compensation.

With sunny 16 you still need to compensate for the tonality of your subject.

Beautiful Gull!!

Mark Young
09-28-2010, 04:48 AM
Thanks James for the info.