PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding Aperture Priority Mode

alexgwoodruff
09-26-2010, 06:17 AM
I have been reading in almost every thread that photographers use Aperture Priority as their preferred mode for avian photography. I headed out to put this into practice recently and found that all of my shots were over-exposed with 'blinkies' all over the place in the histogram warning. I shoot with a Nikon D70, so use exposure compensation of -0.7 (as I have seen recommended), but with no success. I have tried different metering modes and that seems to have no effect either. I ended up reverting back to Manual Mode.
Can anybody offer me any advice? Thanks.

Juan Carlos Vindas
09-26-2010, 11:42 AM
Hello Alex, I am not an expert but to me AV or aperture priority works great. I guess since you are still getting blinkies, then you have to have a recipe for your exposures, and of course every exposure must have a different recipe, but may be you have to play a little with your f stops, ISO, metering patterns, as you had already. In AV you set the aperture and the camera sets the shutter speed. Then it is there where you have to experiment, may be a lower ISO? or may be a smaller aperture? (stop down) or open up? (larger aperture) will help.

Just my $0.2, hope this helps. jc

William Malacarne
09-26-2010, 12:00 PM
It would be of much help if you would post an example photo in the Eager To Learn forum. Make sure to include the EXIF data as it will be much easier to see what happened. I know many use Aperture Priority to shoot BIF's. I know I use it a lot. It is as Juan says the size of the aperture and ISO will determine what the shutter speed will be and if you are getting white blinkies the shutter speed is not fast enough.

Bill

Daniel Cadieux
09-26-2010, 12:06 PM