PDA

View Full Version : Jupiter and moons

Ian Cassell
09-21-2010, 12:02 AM
Maybe not so exciting an image to some, but I have never tried anything like this before and tried this tonight as Jupiter was so bright.

Canon 7D
Canon EF400mm f/5.6L + 2X TC
1 sec f/11 ISO 800 MLU

Huge crop in CS5
NR in Noiseware Pro

Robert Amoruso
09-21-2010, 08:45 AM
You do have a nice diagonal with the planet and stars. If you were able to get a whole sky full of stars with this - that would be something.

Dave Mills
09-21-2010, 09:26 AM
Hi Ian, Agree with Robert about having more interest within the image. The diagonal alignment is interesting...

Ian Cassell
09-21-2010, 09:45 AM
Thanks for the comments, folks. These were Jupiter's moons and not stars, so a different layout would have been tough. I took this because I had never seen the moons so clearly as last night. It was a relatively starless night. I might take a trip out into the desert this weekend to see if I can get this with stars around it.

Roman Kurywczak
09-21-2010, 03:52 PM
Hey Ian,
Agree with the comments above......but given your limitations.....still quite interesting. I'm impressed that you got such a good image......you had to be a good distance from Pheonix because of all the light pollution. Having more stars in would be a great idea Robert gave you!

Robert Amoruso
09-22-2010, 07:17 AM
Thanks for the comments, folks. These were Jupiter's moons and not stars, so a different layout would have been tough. I took this because I had never seen the moons so clearly as last night. It was a relatively starless night. I might take a trip out into the desert this weekend to see if I can get this with stars around it.

I figured not stars after posting my response so looked it up. Thanks for the clarification.:D

Roger Clark
09-26-2010, 10:21 AM
Ian,