PDA

View Full Version : I was told to leave Crystal Cove State Park by a ranger.

Glenn Price
03-09-2008, 10:50 PM
I was going to ignore this but I think it is important enough to post as it may affect other photographers in California.

I was photographing birds at crystal cove last week when a park ranger pulled up next to me.
She said that my camera equipment looked expensive. I agreed with her. She asked wether I was a professional photographer, which I am not. I told the photos were for my personal use, and that I posted them on my website. She took my driver's lic. info, and told me to pack my gear up and leave the park.
She also stated that she would not give me a citation for photographing without a permit this time.
She also told me that the California State Parks had been having a problem with photographers posting images taken in the parks on forums and entering them in competitions without the State parks express permission.
I have been unable to find any information on the California State Parks website expressly forbidding the posting of digital media. The only information on filming/photographing permits was for commercial usage.

This policy of denying access to amateur photographers in California State Parks seems particular unhealthy especially in light of the possible closures by the governor.

This is why I am not posting photos at this time.

Jason Vaclavek
03-09-2008, 10:57 PM
You might try the park head-quarters or a rangers station and explain to them how your not a professional doing this for commercial purposes and see what they say about it?

Glenn Price
03-09-2008, 11:05 PM
She understood that I was not a professional photographer. She is a badged-park ranger and should be aware of policy.
They wish to prevent amateur photographers from posting photos from California State Parks on forums like this one, and entering competitions.

Jim Poor
03-09-2008, 11:38 PM