PDA

View Full Version : Sandbar Baby

Arthur Morris
08-27-2010, 07:52 PM
Most of the JBWR Nickerson IPT group was on a very cooperative family of American Oystercatchers actively feeding along the edge of the surf. We worked them for about 15 minutes. Just before the group flew off this handsome bird of the year posed on the edge of a sand ridge for a few moments.

Canon 800mm f/5.6L IS lens with the EOS-1D MIV. ISO 400. Evaluative metering +1 stop: 1/160 sec. set manually.

Don't be shy; all comments welcome.

annmpacheco
08-27-2010, 08:17 PM
Aahhhh... what a beauty, I think I'll pack my bags migrating a bit South to my first JBWR visit... I'm a very new newbie bird photographer with my first digital camera 7D and my 100-400 lens... no tripod, no big gun glass, no experience, but... I've got a genuine grit to follow some driving passion that finally surfaced last February on my first Everglade visit. "Birds, lovely birds, ohmy!" So I'm stepping into some unknown territory and I want to thank you Art and this wonderful bird photographers community. I received your books and also some of your files this week. Thank you for your passion and the company of guidance you keep. I'm on my way...

Grace Scalzo
08-27-2010, 08:26 PM
This is lovely, clean and interesting. There's one tiny spot right where the brown of his wing begins that I would remove. Love the position of the feet.

Bill Dix
08-27-2010, 08:27 PM
Handsome lad indeed, and very cooperative to pose with such a great background. Beautifully exposed and composed (as usual). Only nit would be to evict the little spot on the right side of the white breast.

Arthur Morris
08-27-2010, 08:37 PM
Good catch on the black spot. It was actually an inadvertent clone stamp mark and it was not on the ORIG! So thanks a ton to Grace and Bill. And yes, my eyes lit up when I saw those ridges on the edge of the sand bar.

Arthur Morris
08-27-2010, 08:39 PM