PDA

View Full Version : Banana Spider; I Think??

Don Hamilton Jr.
08-09-2010, 08:12 PM
Gang, Roman, and you folks, got me salivating, so i went out tonight and tried this in windy conditions. I'm new to flash so after talking with roman a bit this week, i decided, to experiment, and use the flash as my main source of light, hoping to freeze the motion. She's not perfect, but i think i'm hooked. This beauty was up in the air about 20 feet, so i ran home and got the 500mm, and used manual focus etc. I have some real respect for what you folks are doing over here!:2eyes2:
Specs:
Camera Model Canon EOS 7D
Firmware Firmware Version 1.1.0
Shooting Date/Time 8/9/2010 7:10:08 PM
Author DON_HAMILTON_JR.flyinghamiltons@comcast.net
Copyright Notice 2010
Owner's Name
Shooting Mode Manual Exposure
Tv( Shutter Speed ) 1/160
Av( Aperture Value ) 13.0
Metering Mode Evaluative Metering
ISO Speed 1600
Auto ISO Speed OFF
Lens EF500mm f/4L IS USM
Focal Length 500.0mm
Image Size 5184x3456
Image Quality RAW
Flash On
Flash Type Manual Flash
Flash Exposure Compensation 0
Shutter curtain sync 1st-curtain sync
FE lock OFF
White Balance Mode Daylight
AF Mode Manual focusing
AF area select mode Spot AF

Allen Sparks
08-09-2010, 08:37 PM
Nice "macro" with that 500mm Don! I like the placement of the spider in the frame and the web with highlights works for me too. I like the black background as well. You may try toning down the whites a bit. Very nice image!

Jim Bridges
08-10-2010, 08:14 AM
That's a big ol' female and the color and sharpness looks fine on this photo to me. The black BG really makes her shine.

Roman Kurywczak
08-10-2010, 01:35 PM
Hey Don,