PDA

View Full Version : Mushroom

Dave Blinder
08-02-2010, 11:15 AM
I've already burned in the highlights a bit. Wasn't paying too much attention to the sunlight coming through at the time and I'm new to the world of mushroom photography.

I used the popup flash on this one.
<table id="Inbox" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td style="font-size: 120%;" width="30%">Camera:</td> <td style="font-size: 120%;">Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi (http://www.flickr.com/cameras/canon/eos_digital_rebel_xti/)</td> </tr> <tr> <td style="font-size: 120%;" width="30%">Exposure:</td> <td style="font-size: 120%;">0.017 sec (1/60)</td> </tr> <tr> <td style="font-size: 120%;" width="30%">Aperture:</td> <td style="font-size: 120%;">f/9.0</td> </tr> <tr> <td style="font-size: 120%;" width="30%">Focal Length:</td> <td style="font-size: 120%;">22 mm</td> </tr> <tr> <td>ISO Speed:</td> <td>400</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Exposure Bias:</td> <td>0 EV</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Flash:</td> <td>On, Fired</td></tr></tbody></table>

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4143/4853226695_d6f7366c24_b.jpg

Julie Kenward
08-02-2010, 04:58 PM
Roman knows the world of mushrooms better than I do but there are a few things you can do to help improve on your next image, Dave.

First, if you can't get even light, make it! Try using a diffuser or to get rid of the hot spots that are throughout the forest floor. Choose your camera angles carefully to eliminate as much of the uneven light as you can. If you see a bright spot in your viewfinder, try moving the object a bit to get the light to bounce in another direction. Sometimes just covering one faded leaf with a darker leaf will help.

I like the mushroom itself but see how the top intersects with the horizon of the forest floor? Having that cap either below or above will also give you a stronger composition.