PDA

View Full Version : Grazing zebras

Hilary Hann
07-28-2010, 08:15 PM
Found these zebras late afternoon in the Mara North Conservancy.
7D; EF300IS + 1.4 TC; ISO 800; f19; 1/250. Still stuck on Tv, apparently! :) Thinking about trying the auto ISO, has anyone used it with success?

Ken Watkins
07-28-2010, 11:31 PM
Hilary,

Sticking to the image A little rotation is needed, unless there really was a slope.

As for the 7D I have no experience with it but I know somebody who has, try buying this

https://store.birdsasart.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=285

I have the MkIV guide and found it very useful for setting up.

Marc Mol
07-29-2010, 12:34 AM
The angle is too low for mine Hilary, as it's clashing with the treed BG. I do like the way your thinking though.
I use Auto ISO on my Nikons when action is fast and light is low, especially for BIF's where you require at times S/S of +2000.
TFS

Sabyasachi Patra
07-29-2010, 02:01 AM
A slightly higher angle would have shown the zebra's mouth. The saturation seems to be on the higher side. You need to be careful with the auto ISO, else, you can be shooting at ISO 12800 or higher. You can continue to shoot in TV. But control the ISO depending upon the requirements (read aperture). In filming, it is better to use manual.

Hilary Hann
07-29-2010, 02:44 AM