PDA

View Full Version : Relax!

Tom Redd
07-27-2010, 08:58 PM
A sow and two of her cubs enjoy a break at the beach, Katmai. After seeing all the wonderful Katmai shots, I thought I might throw one in. This was a shot in a very small window of a little sun while at Katmai for a day and a half of rain. I am still learning to get sharper images, a tripod would have helped, I would guess.

Image stabilization was on, I read conflicting statements as to whether to turn on OS/IS with high shutter speeds or not. If I turn it off, I think I am too shaky, but would love to hear opinions on that as well. Thanks in advance.

D3s
Sigma 150-500
500mm
f/8
1/2000
ISO 900 - chosen by camera - auto setting
0 ev
no flash
handheld

80% crop - but after reading some of the discussion here, I am not sure how to measure this exactly - lets just say it was significant, but not 100% as defined or shown in Aperture which was used to PP

C & C appreciated and needed, still new here and lots to learn from all the pros here. Everyday, I see these postings and am amazed at all the talent here.

Alfred Forns
07-27-2010, 09:45 PM
Hi Tom You captured a sweet moment !!! A tripod would be great for an image like this since you want to stop down for dof and still make a sharp image !!! Low angles are good but wouldn't mind a bit higher for this one !!!

Tried increasing contrast to bring out more texture and also sharpened ..

Tom Redd
07-27-2010, 09:56 PM
Alfred, that looks much better. You are right, I was too low on this, the sow and cubs actually posed for quite a while and this is one of the few that I was that low for the photo. If you look close, and I am sure you already saw it, but there is cub number 3 of 4 whose head is in the shot barely and now is a distraction. I have other shots of them from a higher perspective and that include the entire family, I may post one of those for comparison, the pose will be different but same setting. Thanks for the feedback.

Harshad Barve