PDA

View Full Version : Dark Eyes II - with scanner

dawn campbell
07-17-2010, 08:03 PM
I posted an image called "Dark Eyes" a couple days ago (or was it just yesterday?) I took with my 5DM2. At the same time I took it, I created another image by scanning the calla lilies themselves, something I do sometimes. I got the idea because, as a designer, I have had to rely quite heavily on scanners (whether desktop or drum scans) to produce images for print. I seem to crave detail and like to reproduce in large sizes, so I figured why not scan the flowers themselves and avail myself of an inexpensive pseudo-medium format reproduction device. Since then, I've discovered I'm not the only one to have had this thought, and there is quite an active community out there using scanners to create images.

It's not quite as easy as it sounds. It requires a great deal of clean up, and you have to know the software to manipulate light fall-off etc. Clearly, there are significant limitations with respect to composition. But I often do what I do with my camera, and then try a scan or two before discarding a subject. That said, and without further ado, I am posting another image of the same calla lilies, and am trying to decide which to reproduce for an upcoming gallery show I have in the works. I need to decide tomorrow so if anyone has any opinions as to which they like and why, I'd be delighted and thankful to hear them.

This image is, at its original size, about 8750 on the long side, so to reduce it to 750px is a bit of a stretch and it loses some of its texture and its smoothness. I want to make a large canvas out of 1 of the 2 of them.

thanks! sorry for the long boring story :)

Ed Cordes
07-17-2010, 08:42 PM
Another stunner! Even at this high reduction for the web the texture and subtle color comes through. I hate to sound like a nit picker, but a bit more room on top and right would help create a sense of space around the RH flowers. Maybe about 1/8 in top and right?