PDA

View Full Version : nikon 80-400 vr

Jared Lloyd
03-05-2008, 03:14 PM
A lot of what I have read in reviews about this lens is that it is incredibly slow. Has anyone used this lens for BIF - is it fast enough to track? What are y'alls opinions on the sharpness and quality of glass. Would this lens be a viable alternative to the 300 2.8 if money was an issue - or would you recomend holding off untill I could afford a non VR 300?
thanks

Randy Stout
03-05-2008, 05:22 PM
Jared:

I have been using a 80-400 for several months for BIF pictures. Yes, the autofocus can be slow. I have gotten some good images with practice and learning to work with its limitations. I think the optics are good, if you can live with the f/5.6 aperture.

I always use the focus limiting switch.
I study my locations and spend some time watching the birds flight patterns, so I am prepared to be prefocused at the right area.
I find the zoom function very helpful for framing adjustments. I can go from single birds to flocks with relative ease.
I am generally shooting BIF handheld, so the lenses light weight is a real plus.

I am shooting a D300, which is pretty good in the focusing dept. I suspect things would be worse on an older/lesser body.

Hope this helps. I would be happy to discuss it further if you would like

Randy

Jared Lloyd
03-05-2008, 06:04 PM
well the reason that I am looking into this lens is to replace my sigma 70-200 2.8 HSM that I have been using with a Sigma TC2 attatched. I am also shooting with the d300 and have found that there are a number of problems with the sigma communicating with my camera - autofocus and exposure. I spent 7 hours last Saturday photographing wolves at a local wolf sanctuary for a magazine, only to come home with out of focus photographs despite the use of a tripod. So to be honest, I'm in a bit of a pinch with a due date one month away for this story.