PDA

View Full Version : Subject Baiting/Feeding

David Hunter
01-03-2008, 12:22 PM
I have a question about the baiting of birds (or animals in general). I’m not for or against it, and I’m not trying to start any kind of ethical post war. I know that some photographers use mice (owls, raptors) I have read in these forums and a few others about using an iPod or similar device for bird calls. I’m new to the professional nature photography community and I would like to know how often it is done and what your thoughts on its usefulness or what it adds or detracts from your images.

My background is in photojournalism where it is highly unethical to alter or enhance a photographic scene either at the time the image is taken or in post production unless the image is identified as an illustration or an environmental portrait of a person. But now that I have said that I’m wondering if you use some seed to bring in a song bird, isn’t that an environmental portrait? Is it different if you use a fish to get an eagle or osprey for a close up? Just some thoughts. What are yours?

Fabs Forns
01-03-2008, 12:49 PM
Good question, Dave.

Speaking to a biologist about the use of bait, his opinion was that feeding a wild bird in an non-consistent way, like on occasion, for a photograph, will not affect the species in any way, versus making the bird dependent on your food.

I do have a problem with baiting and not delivering the goods, making the bird wait precious energy without compensation and the way to replace that energy with a free meal.

As for the song tapes, they are widely used and if you use them with caution, I see no problem either, unless you do it close to a nest in the breeding season, that would distract the adults from their chores and thous affect their lives.

Willing to hear what others think about this.

Susan Griffith
01-03-2008, 04:24 PM
Hi Dave,