PDA

View Full Version : Nikon Speedlight 600 or 900?

Tom Redd
07-05-2010, 12:23 AM
Question: I am considering purchasing a Nikon Speedlight and am debating between the 600 and 900 models. I am relatively new to photography and so I am unsure as to how much I will use it. I tend to buy quality, so I don't later have to purchase again because I outgrew something. Any feedback or thoughts on these two units is appreciated.

Desmond Chan
07-05-2010, 01:22 AM
Question: I am considering purchasing a Nikon Speedlight and am debating between the 600 and 900 models. [snip] I tend to buy quality, so I don't later have to purchase again because I outgrew something.

Well that's easy. You should get the SB 900 as I believe you already have outgrown the SB 600 even before you'd started taking up photography...the 600 is the older flashlight ;)

I don't have the 600 and so cannot help you there. I do have the SB800 and so far so good. I've heard though that the SB 900 could have over-heat problem.

Tony Whitehead
07-05-2010, 02:18 AM
If you can stretch to the 900 it is much nicer and easier to use. I have SB600, 800 and 900. I use the 600s as remote units for studio work and they work well but I often need to look at the manual if I want to change settings - the interface on the 900 is much more intuitive. The flash head zooming to 200mm is also nice

Tom Redd
07-05-2010, 08:25 AM
Desmond, I have read a few reports of the 900 overheating.
Tony, have you experienced this problem? I am leaning towards the 900 for now. Thank you for the replies.

Jason G. Harrison
07-05-2010, 09:16 AM
I use up to 5 SB-900's...and not ONE time have any of mine overheated. Some do have this issue so for sure there is something going on to cause it. It is my belief that the protection circuit they have built into the 900's, are very sensitive and will shut down at the first sign of any heat issues. When this happens, the unit is NOT overheating...its just being shut down to avoid that.