PDA

View Full Version : Twelve-spotted Skimmer Dragonfly

David Stephens
06-30-2010, 01:18 PM
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4093/4744045895_a389ee0db3_b.jpg

I'm a macro noob, but I'm seeing more and more subjects that attract me to this craft, so I thought I'd start posting here in hopes of elevating my results. I didn't have my 25mm ET with me, so I ended up cropping a little.

Canon 7D
EF 500mm f/4L IS
Aperture Priority
f/8.0
ISO 800 (windy day)
-1EV
Resulting S/S 1/1600
No flash
RAW conversion with DxO's Optics Pro 6.2
Induro C414 tripod Arca-Swiss Z1 ballhead with Wimberley Sidekick

Jerry van Dijk
06-30-2010, 03:35 PM
Hi Dave, good to see you're becoming a macro enthousiast! It's a whole new world, waiting to be discovered.
You got a very nice angle and DOF in this dragonfly. I felt the dragonfly (a wonderful species we don't get here, we only have versions without the spots) was a bit lost in his big grey environment and that it could use some extra color because of the harsh light. I also felt that the perch somewhat distracts from the main subject. I took the liberty of making some adjustments to your image.
I cropped the image, putting the head in the ROT hotspot, and losing much empty BG and some of the perch. I adjusted the levels, only clipping the detail in the eye highlight, where there wasn't much detail anyway, added a little saturation and sharpness and came up with this result. See how you like it!
Hope to see more of your macro's soon!

David Stephens
06-30-2010, 03:44 PM
Thanks Jerry. I do like your changes very much. I was thinking about the background already, but the crop does bring much more attention to the skimmer.

Paul Lagasi
06-30-2010, 06:08 PM
I couldn't agree more, lots of interesting things to photograph with macro, welcome...the image repost rocks Jerry, David your original image is well done, sharp and colorful...

Roman Kurywczak
07-01-2010, 06:56 PM
Hey David,