PDA

View Full Version : Air Drop

Jon Hall
06-25-2010, 10:01 PM
Greetings to all from the Pacific Northwest. Yes, we have Osprey here in Seattle also. It appeared as though you were lacking photos of these magnificent birds (:D), so I thought I would make my first post a "Sea Hawk" from Seattle!
This is "Mom" dropping nesting material to "Dad" who is in the nest about 10 feet below.
I'm using a D90, shooting in RAW and using Elements for PP. (I'm a beginner)
I'm having a little trouble with my PP technique as I am quite sure it couldn't be the camera operator, and I was hoping to glean a little of the vast amounts of expertise available from BPN. Alright, the photographer needs help too. My exposure was off in the RAW image so I tweaked in ACR as follows:
Exposure: +0.95
Brightness: +41
Contrast: -4
Saturation: 0
Luminance Smoothing: 100

Am I way off the mark?
I also had to tone down some hot spots on the whites of the wing and head, did a little overall sharpening and then a little more on the head and eye and cropped to portrait.
I'm new to this game, so any and all advise would be greatly appreciated.

I will never be able to give as much as I get from this community, but I'm glad I found you all and look
forward to contributing my 0.00002 cents worth.

Nikon D90
70-300 VR at 240mm
1/2500 F/8 ISO 400
Hand held.

Meesh Fink
06-25-2010, 10:47 PM
Hi Jon! I'm learning, so my two cents is worth maybe 0.00002 cents, too. Please feel free to comment on my photos as part of your learning process. :)

My comments, then. The bird looks pretty good in that you caught the focus and it's a nice pose. It's a good behavioral photo with action. :) I think a horizontal crop might look good for this photo so there's not as much empty air above the bird. It also kind of looks like there is too much NR on the bird? It has that look of being too smooth. There also seems to be a slight halo around it.

Good job on your first post, BTW.

Lance Peters
06-25-2010, 11:04 PM