PDA

View Full Version : Even an Old Dog Can Hunt....

Arthur Morris
06-18-2010, 09:05 AM
I write often that I am not very good at capturing image of birds in flight and in action. In a recent post somebody commented in a rather crude manner that I was full of it. I am not. In addition to slowing reflexes I often get very nervous when I see a great bird flying towards me. When this endangered drake Spectacled Eider began running across the water to lift off I remember taking a deep breath and concentrating. I made only two frame while Brian and EJ each made many more. But I was thrilled with this one.

This image was created in Barrow, AK with the Canon 800mm f/5.6L IS lens, the 1.4X II TC, and the EOS 1D MIV. ISO 800. Evaluative metering +2/3 stops off the bird in the water: 1/500 sec. at f/11 set manually. (Just before they took flight I had been attempting to get some d-o-f while photographing the pair.)

Don't be shy; all comments welcome.

ps: This is a very small crop from the rear and from above.

subhrashis
06-18-2010, 09:18 AM
Wow! Strange looking bird, (I see why it is named!) like the green in the neck!
Composition conveys the movement nicely, face is sharp and that makes the image, but body could have been sharper if ss was higher. This is really a problem with no solution,and i think all would agree, if you are set up for something and a different opportunity crops up very fast! Then it's a test of how fast one can think and act!

Here's hoping it's a learnable skill, (If it was inborn, i'd be better off taking up painting!) :)

Stu Bowie
06-18-2010, 09:23 AM
What amazing features on the head - I dont think I have ever seen this species. Well you have captured a good flying posture, and sharp where it counts. ( they say, if you come away with at least one winner/keeper, your trip was worthwhile. Hopefully this was your shot ) Well captured.

Arthur Morris
06-18-2010, 09:26 AM