PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about switching to "the dark side" (another one)

Philippe Collard
03-03-2008, 08:55 PM
Greetings,

I have been shooting with a 20D for three years. I like the camera but it has drawbacks of course, mainly AF speed in some situations. I am just about to purchase a used 1DMKII but then a friend just suggested me that a D300 is about the same price, and could be a better choice.

I must say that every time I see an image from a D300 I find it looks really great. There seem to be something very special about the colors and dynamic range that I feel I will never be able to achieve with the 20D, or maybe even the 1D MKII.

So here I am, thinking about Nikon. My main lens right now is the 300mm f/4L non-IS and I figure I would need the AF-S 300mm f/4 from Nikon. For those of you who used both how do you feel they compare? I also had a 400mm f/4 DO that I sold a few months ago, I don't need to ask you if the Nikon 200-400mm f/4 would be as good. That I know :)

Your thoughts are really appreciated...

Thanks a lot and best,

Philippe.

Alfred Forns
03-03-2008, 10:54 PM
Hi Philippe Glad you are giving the Dark Side a consideration

I use both D300 and D3 Both can recommend Lens wise the 300 is a great performer Seems like we should be seeing an update sometime in the near future but nothing announced as of now On the D300 it becomes a 450 f4.0 With a converter (1.4) a 570 f 5.6 Great combo

Wide angle lenses traditionally are better as the flash system

One thing to not is the metering system The new Nikons read light in RGB mode and seem to do a better job Early morning it senses the warmth and tells the meter to compensate We have been noticing that we can shoot even at sunup but Canon needs to add light

Bottom line you can't go wrong with either but I prefer the Dark Side !!!

Lana Hays
03-04-2008, 04:56 AM