PDA

View Full Version : Bobolink male

John Chardine
05-30-2010, 09:40 AM
These are difficult photographic subjects because of the high-contrast plumage. I was lucky to have the sun go in behind the clouds a few times and reduce this problem a little. Image made at Sackville, NB. I initially used some recorded song to find the bird, but then he just went about his business doing what male songbirds do this time of year- singing, defending his territory, singing, eating, singing. You get the picture.

I cloned out some OOF perch material, dodged the eye highlight, ran NR on the BG.

Date: 29 May, 2010, Time: 13:42h
Model: Canon EOS-1D Mark IV
Lens: EF500mm f/4L IS USM +1.4x @ 700 mm
Program: Aperture Priority
ISO 400, 1/640s, f/7.1
Exp. comp.: -0.3 (mistake- I had this set when the sun was out to avoid blowing highlights)
Flash: no flash

Indranil Sircar
05-30-2010, 11:11 AM
Excellent composition, John. This is my first time seeing a bobolink. I like the look back pose. Good exposure given the contrast of the plumage. TFS

Deborah Hanson
05-30-2010, 12:04 PM
The colors are wonderful and the details in the blacks, whites, and feathers are great. Like the pose and perch.
For me - a difficult bird to get. They don't stick around for the photos.:)
Deb

Dave Hassell
05-30-2010, 01:14 PM
Excellent exposure and composition and I like the 'over the shoulder' look.

Bill Dix
05-30-2010, 01:59 PM
Hi John. Great shot of a tough bird - I find they usually pop up suddenly and then disappear just as quickly back into the grass, out of sight. Well exposed and great look-back pose.

Linda Dulak
05-30-2010, 03:14 PM
John: this bird is on my list to photograph. They sometimes stop by on their migration. We have 11 acres of meadow and they will stop for as long as a week at a time. Unfortunately they haven't been seen the last few years.

Lovely photo with good detail in both white and black. I love the look back pose.

John Chardine
05-30-2010, 03:25 PM