PDA

View Full Version : Kookaburra & bush

caseyargall
05-12-2010, 02:00 AM
hi, This is from my first photos taken in quite a while, i was unable to take pictures for a while due to personal reasons. I must admit i was back into it really quick absolutely loving having the camera in my hands. Having said that i'm still a beginner and have alot to learn.
This Shot was taken around 2'oclock in the afternoon but it was stormy and there was very little light... because of that i increased the iso.
It was taken with me on my veranda and looking across at the Kookaburra on the branch of the tree.
This has no crop.
medium/high noise removal.
ISO: i can't figure out how to check this but i was for the most part using 1600.
Aperture:F/10
Shutter: 1/200
focal: 200mm
No tripod
Flash: canon 430exII on ettl.
Camera: canon 1000d with tamron lens.

thanks from Casey.

Lance Peters
05-12-2010, 03:32 AM
Hi Casey - 1600 ISO it was (Checked in the EXif Data)
Nice Aussie bush scene with a iconic bird.
Use of flash looks good - F10 was probably a little overkill here - could have shot this wide open and blurred the Background some more.
I would try a alternative crop trying to move the bird from the centre of the frame - think Rule of Thirds and see what you can come up with.
Looking forward to seeing more :)

arash_hazeghi
05-12-2010, 06:15 AM
Agree with Lance, f/10 is not a good choice of aperture, for shots like this you want to maximize the shutter speed by opening the aperture for better sharpness. Wide aperture would also help separate the subject from BG in busy environments like this.

caseyargall
05-12-2010, 06:47 AM
Thankyou both, i will keep this in mind(the aperture thing) when i go to take some more.
The rule of thirds thing is a good point.
your advice is much appreciated.

Thanaboon Jearkjirm
05-12-2010, 08:31 AM