PDA

View Full Version : New Wildlife shooter

phil adair
05-09-2010, 01:37 PM
I'm just getting started out with Wildlife after having shot sports and racing for a number of years. Out with the 1dm2 in with the 5dm2, I captured this with a Sigma 120-300 exif data below.

I had it mounted on my monopod and was walking out to the end of my dock, He/She was flying overhead so I wasn't able to use the monopod. I'm just starting to get serious about capturing shots of wildlife. I have a Gitzo 1325 cf tripod with a Arca Swiss B1 on it that I will be using more.

I'm wondering if I should have used a higher ISO and a faster shutter speed stopped down a little.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.pbase.com/shadco/image/124363914/original.jpg

Camera Model Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Firmware Firmware Version 2.0.4
Shooting Date/Time 05/08/10 16:37:51
Copyright Notice Copyright: Shadco Photo 2010
Owner's Name Phil Adair
Shooting Mode Aperture-Priority AE
Tv( Shutter Speed ) 1/640
Av( Aperture Value ) 5.6
Metering Mode Partial Metering
Exposure Compensation 0
ISO Speed 100
Auto ISO Speed OFF
Lens 120-300mm
Focal Length 300.0mm
Image Size 5616x3744
Image Quality RAW
Flash Off
FE lock OFF
White Balance Mode Auto
AF Mode AI Servo AF
Picture Style Neutral
Sharpness 0
Contrast 0
Saturation 0
Color tone 0
Color Space sRGB
Long exposure noise reduction 0:Off
High ISO speed noise reduction 0:Standard
Highlight tone priority 0:Disable
Auto Lighting Optimizer 0:Standard
Peripheral illumination correction Disable
File Size 21940KB
Dust Delete Data No
Drive Mode Continuous shooting
Live View Shooting OFF
AF Microadjustment 0

Dave Leroy
05-09-2010, 05:46 PM
Hi Phil,

I certainly think you are on the right track. Lots of shutter speed for birds in flight (bifs) and dof is the next step.
I like the nice diagonal composition.
Well done.

Alfred Forns
05-09-2010, 06:10 PM
Hi Phil Big Warm Welcome !! With your bg will be up to speed for birds in no time !!!