PDA

View Full Version : creating panoramic images

Eric Virkler
05-04-2010, 02:15 PM
Good Afternoon, When stitching together panoramic images (using Photoshop Elements 2.0) occasionally there are vertical or diagonal lines in the final image. (see attached image) I'm assuming that these are caused by two things: the camera not remaining perfectly level from one frame to the next and inconsistencies in the lens at its outer edges. Would you say these are accurate statements? What can I do to eliminate these lines (after the fact for this shot) or prevent them in the future? I'm using a ballhead, which I know is not the optimum tool for this task. Thanks.

Eric Virkler
Faces of Nature Photography
www.ericjvirkler.com (http://www.ericjvirkler.com)

Gerald Kelberg
05-04-2010, 02:35 PM
Hi Eric,

I am not an expert but have persevered with panoramas through a number of renditions of different software and so would suggest that some of the more recent releases of software may be more forgiving than PE2. In PS4 the panorama software is quite excellent and way ahead of PS3, so maybe the more recent releases of PE could also be of help.

You don't mention the camera or lens you have used or any of the technicals, so it is difficult to form an opinion on that basis.

If your software allows, you can perhaps keep the montage at different layers and manually adjust the different edges to give a more pleasing join.

Good luck,

Gerald

Eric Virkler
05-04-2010, 04:13 PM
The cameras I've used for this range from the Canon 50D and 40D to the Digital Rebel. I'm usually using Canon's 18-55mm or 28-135mm lenses. Always manual focus, manual exposure, and tripod.

My sister-in-law uses CS3, I'll try the same images on that and see how much better the results are. Thanks.

Eric

Mark Hardymon
05-06-2010, 07:25 AM