PDA

View Full Version : Tree Patterns and Texture

Barbara Kile
04-21-2010, 08:22 AM
This was simple pattern of trees converted to b-w, then inverted to provide more contrast. (I've never tried using 'invert' to a b-w before, so this was an interesting outcome. Technique suggested by a friend) Then I overlaid a 'landscape' type texture over the image - one that features what might be suggestive of clouds, grass, water, sky, etc.
0.8" at f/11.

denise ippolito
04-21-2010, 08:47 AM
Barbara, Something different from you and it's nice to see you trying new things. This really works for me . I like the etched look to this. You have a beautiful layering of color in the BG. The texture is very nice also. Well done.

Kerry Perkins
04-21-2010, 05:54 PM
Barbara, nice job on this and I really like the textures. The layers of color really add interest. Looks like a hand-tinted pen and ink. Nice!

Arthur Morris
04-21-2010, 06:23 PM
I also like the look, the color, and the textures.

Barbara Kile
04-21-2010, 10:19 PM
Thank you Denise, Kerry, and Artie. Every once in a while I get a nice surprise moving a texture onto an image!

Arthur Morris
04-22-2010, 05:20 AM
YAW Barbara, Can you let us know how you brought in the texture. (I am totally new at that :))

Barbara Kile
04-22-2010, 08:33 AM
I would be happy to Artie. If you need a few good places for free or purchased textures: Shadow House Creations, (http://shadowhousecreations.blogspot.com/), btw: Shadow House has some free ones on Flickr under 'Totally Mess', Flypaper Textures (http://flypapertextures.blogspot.com/), and Distressed Textures by Jewell (http://www.wix.com/DistressedJewell/Distressed-Textures). For purchased ones, they will usually give you a discount on more than one set. I'm always shooting my own textures too when I'm out and about.