PDA

View Full Version : Oliver?

VinceRossi
03-29-2010, 12:00 PM
Took this while on a moving ferry going to the Statue of Liberty.

10-2-2009
Speed 1/2000 sec
Aperture Priority
F8
Focal Length 70 mm
Lens 70-300mm
Metering=Pattern
Hand Held

QUESTIONS:
As I am still learning I would appreciate it if you guys and girls can tell me what settings you prefer on the camera.
Pattern, focus point, Priority, etc. I have been told many different things like "always use spot focus" "always use center weight"
Can I get some input on these matters.

Thanks

Alfred Forns
03-29-2010, 01:50 PM
Hi Vince There is not best or only way, best to know the differences and set the most appropriate !!

The meter is the easiest, usually the Matrix on Nikon or Evaluative on Canon, the others have very little use. Now what to meter on is the question and what mode Manual, Av or Tv !! For flight I usually set up in manual so if the bg changes the exposure will not ex ... area in the sky with no clouds, or lots of clouds... same light on the bird but will have different exposure !!

Focus point with an all clear bg can use the multi or all points, I like to use the center point for accuracy but is most what you are used to. Fabs likes to use all points more than I do and her flight images speak for themselves !!

With this image in specific you are shooting the shaded side of the bird so you need to give more light which might not render the sky as pretty as you have it .. but the bird will be fine !! Just choice.

Harold Davis
03-29-2010, 02:16 PM
i can add that if i am shooting stationery and my bg is not going to change, i normally shoot aperture priority. if the bg is changing, i go manual. as far as AF, i shot yesterday for 3 hours and used everything. single point, 9 point and 3D tracking. i use whatever is best for the situation. only practice and knowing your camera will prepare you the best.

Bob Miller
03-29-2010, 03:08 PM