PDA

View Full Version : Wedding Photography Help....Please

James Graham
03-15-2010, 11:49 AM
A good friend has asked me to take pictures at her wedding, even though she knows that I am a wildlife photographer and have never photographed a wedding. (They don't have a lot of money and I am doing it for free).
Fortunately, I have several wide angle kit lens that should work. My plan is to run pics through PS then burn to a disc that she can use for prints. I will convert my raw files to jpeg, but my question is: what size jpeg files should they be? I don't use commercial printers, so have no idea what their requirements are.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Alan Melle
03-15-2010, 01:24 PM
I'd ask her what size prints she is most commonly going to want and then I'd give her print files at that size and sharpened appropriately. If you size the images at 4x6 or 6x9 at 300 DPI & properly sharpened she can print them resized nominally and they will still work. If she wants any specific images to be printed significantly larger offer to get her individual print files for that size, such as 8x10 or 8x12 at 300 DPI. I prefer .tif files but jpeg files will work fine. If she wants any of the images cropped individually it would probably be better for her if you crop them the way she wants rather than leaving that to most print labs.

Charles Glatzer
03-15-2010, 01:34 PM
If you have the card space why not shoot RAW and large JPEG's. You may find the JPG'S good enough to avoid a lot of post-production on your part for her needs, and if you do feel an images requires post-production tweaking you will have the RAW file at your disposal.

Chas

Bob Decker
03-15-2010, 04:15 PM