PDA

View Full Version : New Birder in Michigan - Locations needed

kevinpitzer
02-24-2010, 10:50 AM
I am new to birding and do not know quite where to go so I am looking for some help on where to find some good bird sites in Grand Rapids or around the area. I also would like some good spots for the spring and summer.

Thanks a bunch!

Richard Sleeman
02-24-2010, 12:11 PM
Kevin,welcome to the Michigan birding community. The first thing you should do is buy Alan Chartiers "Birds of Michigan"; it contains detailed maps and driving instructions for sites throughout the state. Its a must have.
Beyond that, we all have our favorite places, one not too far from you,is the Tawas Point State Park. Try to visit between mid April and end of May. Multiple times if you can.
As for the specific G. Rapids area, I'll have to defer to someone more local or Allans book.
Good Birding!
Richard

PS: Tawas is on the east side of the state, but I don't think its a especially long drive.

kevinpitzer
02-25-2010, 02:22 PM
I would like to thank you for this information!

Does anyone know of places closer to GR?

Kevin,welcome to the Michigan birding community. The first thing you should do is buy Alan Chartiers "Birds of Michigan"; it contains detailed maps and driving instructions for sites throughout the state. Its a must have.
Beyond that, we all have our favorite places, one not too far from you,is the Tawas Point State Park. Try to visit between mid April and end of May. Multiple times if you can.
As for the specific G. Rapids area, I'll have to defer to someone more local or Allans book.
Good Birding!
Richard

PS: Tawas is on the east side of the state, but I don't think its a especially long drive.

Richard Sleeman
02-25-2010, 03:12 PM