PDA

View Full Version : Winter Pelican

Jeff Barton
02-08-2010, 09:37 PM
http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii282/windanman/IMG_1127.jpg

This was shot on Super Bowl Sunday at La Jolla Cove with the Canon 7D and the 70-200 f4 IS. Shot at 1/1000 at f-8 and ISO 400. Light post in DPP. I am new to shooting birds and my respect for photographers on this forum is growing as I try it out. My BIF's need more work. And I thought shooting surfing was challenging.

Lance Peters
02-09-2010, 04:37 AM
Hi Jeff - With a busy BG and the subject parallel to the plane of the sensor one approach is to open right up to minimise the impact of the background.
The rocks and the white water in the BG do draw attention away from your subject.
As presented I think there may be too much negative space above the bird and a need for some more space below.
Likewise behind - generally speaking you want more space in front of your subject than behind. Which would also address the issue of having Mr Pelican smack bang in the middle of the frame, Rule of thirds applies here as well :)
Surfing must be easy hey??? - But then you are probably a expert at that because you have had lots of practise - same applies with birds.
Looking forward to seeing more :)

Bob Decker
02-09-2010, 07:46 AM
When you're skilled in another photography discipline bird photography can be really humbling. No doubt about it. ;) But keep in mind, you do have a head-start compared to someone without any photographic background. I think cropping tighter on the RH side and top would help. As presented the subject is a bit centered for my taste. I'm not sure what you did in post but applying a bit of an "S-curve" in post could help make the subject "pop" a bit more. Theres enough separation between the subject and background that you could select the bird via you favorite method, inverse selection, then darken and/or blur the background a bit to lessen distractions.

Good start. Keep up the good work.

Alfred Forns