PDA

View Full Version : First post - short eared owl

Deborah Hanson
01-27-2010, 10:38 AM
Tried digital photography about 2 years ago. Picked up again about 1 year ago after getting the D700. I am just learning photoshop and the other software programs out there. I would really like to learn what to do to get better.

Taken with Nikon D700 with 200-400 + 1/4TC. ISO 500, 1/500 shutter, 7.1 aperture, at 550mm. No crop and I tried to lighten the face and darken the background a bit. NR and a little sharpening.

Thanks for help
Deb

Joe Brown
01-27-2010, 11:20 AM
Welcome to the form Deborah. Lots to learn here.
Very very nice first shot. I'm impressed that you could get this close to a short eared owl. On a recent outing of mine photographing owls the short eared owls kept their distance in the fields. I like how the post and barbwire lead your eye to the owl. The BG is very nice as well. The colours and light are beautiful. The owl's eye is sharp.
I find the face a little confusing as I would like to see more of the beak and whether he was eating something. I might crop just a bit off the top putting the owl higher in the image.

Joe

Randy Stout
01-27-2010, 11:56 AM
Deb:

Very nice first post. Good points made by Joe.
I am generally not a fan of barbed wire in images, but the angle of this one makes it much more interesting.
I like the background, its effective, shows environment without interfering with the subject.
IMO, you perhaps lightened the eye just a bit too much, so it looks unnatural. Always a fine line.

The image is a little flat. I would recommend you try a version with the black slider moved in about 15-20 points. It will give a bit more definition without looking too contrasty.

Keep them coming.

You have come to the right place to learn.

Cheers

Randy

Joe Senzatimore
01-27-2010, 12:10 PM