Canon 40D
Tamron 17-50mm
32mm
F5.6
10"
ISO 100
EC -.67
nearly full frame
5:50 a.m., just before sunrise last spring...

contrasted the center trees and sharpened them. not much else done to the image. this is my first attempt at taking a photo trying to blur water. Which I should have done with moving water close by, but this is what I got.
What do you think? Something seems wrong with it to me.....

Myer Bornstein
01-11-2010, 09:04 AM
I would crop the water around the lighter blue. the lower reflections bother me since they are not a complete image of the main scene. My preference

Cheryl Flory
01-11-2010, 09:13 AM
Myer, I do have the entire reflection, but was trying to keep the horizon out of the center of the image....
what do you think?

Myer Bornstein
01-11-2010, 11:17 AM
Cheryl
Here is my crop see what you think

Jeff Cashdollar
01-11-2010, 01:41 PM
Its all about feel, I like the picture from a distance. It not only brings the reflection into play but gives the subject some depth - but that's me. In this case, the smooth water and the reflection would be part of the subject - IMO?

Cheryl - like what you are doing here.

Anita Rakestraw
01-11-2010, 03:57 PM
Chery, I like this alot; the blurred water is lovely. My choice would also be the full image. I played with opening the shadows, and also with different color temps - interesting variations that you might try, just for fun if nothing else. :D

Gus Cobos
01-11-2010, 06:23 PM
Hi Cheryl,
I like the full reflection, and the quality of the water...would suggest a little of CCW rotation, its a tad slanted, and might want to increase the contrast just slightly not too much...these images are about feel. I like it...show me more...:cool:

Oscar Zangroniz
01-11-2010, 07:53 PM
Great image Cheryl. For my taste I like your second post. I like to see all of the reflection, do agre with Gus that it needs a little CCW rotation.
Congrats

Alfred Forns
01-12-2010, 02:33 PM