Manual
1/400"
F10
ISO: 200
Canon 430EX: On, Fired
Photoshop CS3

Vida van der Walt
01-08-2010, 03:43 PM
Hi Ken. I think you captured nice detail with a lens that is not a dedicated macro lens. I am wondering if you could maybe lighten that shadow a bit and fiddle with the brightness/contrast settings to soften the light ( I am not a PP expert and this is just a guess). Like the vibrant orange as well.:)

Julie Kenward
01-08-2010, 04:13 PM
Really nice monarch in some really nasty mud! I felt the bright spectral effects were a bit much so I cloned over them at 50% to tone them down a bit. I brought up the shadow under the butterfly using Viveza 2 (but you could also use shadow/highlight adjustment in PS) and then lightened him up while darkening the outer edges of the frame. I also cropped a bit off the FG as the OOF mud was really distracting.

You really did a great job on capturing the details of the monarch and the colors are exquisite - I would love to have seen this guy perched in the middle of a field of flowers, though!

Ken Childs
01-08-2010, 05:28 PM
Really nice monarch in some really nasty mud! I felt the bright spectral effects were a bit much so I cloned over them at 50% to tone them down a bit. I brought up the shadow under the butterfly using Viveza 2 (but you could also use shadow/highlight adjustment in PS) and then lightened him up while darkening the outer edges of the frame. I also cropped a bit off the FG as the OOF mud was really distracting.

You really did a great job on capturing the details of the monarch and the colors are exquisite - I would love to have seen this guy perched in the middle of a field of flowers, though!